Enquiries?    info@studbook.co.za  
Stemma Animalia

Stemma Animalia


During 1995 SA Stud Book formed a company known as Stemma Animalia (Pty) Ltd. The name of the company means 'pedigrees of animals'.

SA Stud Book is the sole owner of Stemma Animalia and the entire executive committee automatically forms the Board of Directors of Stemma Animalia. Since SA Stud Book is a non-profit organisation, and therefore exempt from tax liabilities, Stemma Animalia serves as its commercial arm, acting as holding company for Stud Book's investments and fixed assets, like its very efficient building.
Stemma Animalia also renders a very effective and needed service to various Breeders’ Societies through its secretarial service.

Secretariat Services

Stemma Animalia runs a service organisation known as the Secretariat.  The Secretariat is a non-profit  organisation that renders financial and administrative services to several  breeders’ societies.

The Secretariat is not in competition with other independent societies.  They supply an administrative service to societies that choose, because of logistical reasons, not to run their own offices and rather make use of the Secretariat’s infrastructure, but still keep their own identity. The core function of the Secretariat is to manage the general and financial administration of the society in the most professional way possible.  The goal is not to take over the management of the society. That stays the responsibility of the Board.

Benefits to Societies

Societies that make use of the Secretariat services, enjoy amongst others, the following benefits:

  • The society still have majority power through the Secretarial Services Committee, consisting out of the Presidents of the participating societies.  They can decide about the money paid over to the Secretariat. This gives the Society the maximum protection against drastic tariff increases.
  • The sharing of overheads has a direct impact on the society’s financial position.  No cross-subsidising is possible in the current system.
  • The financial and bank statement of every society is independently managed.  Every society has its own bank account and can determine who the authorised signatories should be.
  • Something that is very important for the Secretariat is that every society can keep its unique identity.  A society should be sure that their breeders will not be less important than any other breeder making use of the service.
  • The societies are sure of continuity because staff of the Secretariat will be directly involved in the affairs of the society. A matrix method of management is used and it ensures that the resignation or transfer of a staff member will not have an influence on a society.

 

NAME   TELEPHONE EMAIL
Chris Els Manager: Secretariat 051 4100 963 chris@stemma.co.za
 
Eleanor de Jager Financial Officer 051 4100 962 eleanor@stemma.co.za
 
Elize Kleyn Financial Officer 051 4100 967 elizek@stemma.co.za
       
Shadia Theron Breeders' Society Officer 051 4100 948 shadia@stemma.co.za
Breed: Saddle Horses
 
Magda Boukes Breeders' Society Officer 051 4100 935 magdab@stemma.co.za
Breed: Beefmasters
 
Madelein Coetzee Breeders' Society Officer 051 4100 956 madeleine@stemma.co.za
Breed: Saddle Horses
 
Daleen du Preez Breeders' Society Officer 051 4100 948 daleen@stemma.co.za
Breed: Arab Horses
 
Liezel Grobler Breeders' Society Officer 051 4100 900 / 082 922 4616 liezel@stemma.co.za
Breed: Hereford
 
Christopher Havenga Technical Advisor 082 821 1527 christopherhavenga@icloud.com
Breed: Boran
 
Yolanda Venter Manager 051 4100 961 yolandav@stemma.co.za
Breed: Boran
 
Alma Marais Breeders' Society Officer 051 4100 945 alma@stemma.co.za
Breed: Friesian Horses
 
Marisa Nel Breeders' Society Officer 051 4100 950 marisa@stemma.co.za
Breed: Boerboele
 
Elize Prinsloo Breeders' Society Officer 051 4100 952 elize@stemma.co.za
Breed: SA Boerperde, Senepol
 
Christine van der Merwe Breeders' Society Officer 051 4100 951 christine@stemma.co.za
Breed: Borane
 
Sonja Wasserman Breeders' Society Officer 051 4100 955 sonja@stemma.co.za
Breed: Sussex, Gelbvieh, Braunvieh
 
June Wiid Breeders' Society Officer 051 4100 953 june@stemma.co.za
Breed: Charolais, Romagnola, Dairy Swiss, South Devon Cattle en Ile de France Sheep
 
Ronandé Wiese Breeders' Society Officer 051 4100 974 ronande@stemma.co.za
Breed: Hackneys and Drakensbergers
 
Lizanne Vermeulen Breeders' Society Officer 051 4100 968 lizanne@stemma.co.za
Breed: Dormer, Suffolk and Meatmaster Sheep
 
Anna-Marie Viljoen Breeders' Society Officer 051 4100 958 annamarie@stemma.co.za
Breed: Shorthorn, Tuli, Varke
 

 

 

© SA Studbook. All Rights Reserved.
No article or picture may be reproduced\published
without the written consent of SA Studbook.